logo mobile logo

Free Consultation

856-372-5922

Call For A Free Case Evaluation

856-372-5922

arrow rightSchedule consultation

New Jersey Defense Lawyers for Sexual Assault Charges

Results-Driven Defense Lawyers Fiercely Defend Clients Accused of Sexual Assault in Gloucester County, Camden County, and Burlington County

Sexual assault charges are prosecuted in the same courts as other criminal offenses.  They are graded according to the same scale that applies universally in the New Jersey criminal justice system.  However, sexual assault charges are vastly different than most other offenses.  The social stigma attached to sexual assault allegations alone can destroy your reputation and change your life forever. 

Hercules Law Group, LLC is a group of top-rated criminal defense lawyers dedicated to aggressively defending every client accused of sexual assault—to give you the best chance of getting your life back.  The firm takes the words “innocent until proven guilty” seriously.  When you choose Hercules Law Group, LLC to protect your rights, you can expect:

  • 20-plus years of legal experience in your corner
  • Dedicated support from an experienced defense attorney throughout the entire criminal process
  • A lawyer who treats you with respect, dignity and compassion—and who will never pressure you to accept a guilty plea

Sexual assault is the legal term for rape.  When charged with sexual assault, a conviction carries up to 20 years in prison and a lifetime of state-mandated sex offender registration requirements.  You need a lawyer with the skills needed to build a solid defense—because the prosecutor is likely to pursue the charges aggressively.

Hercules Law Group, LLC is recognized for its creative, smart and effective defense strategies.  We work to find approaches that maximize your chance of successfully resolving your case—whether that means a not guilty verdict, having your charges dismissed, or negotiating lesser charges to help you put the past behind you.  

Your initial consultation at Hercules Law Group, LLC is always free.  Call today to discuss a custom defense strategy with an experienced New Jersey sexual assault defense lawyer.

Grading New Jersey Sexual Assault Charges

Sexual assault charges can be graded as first or second-degree offenses in New Jersey.  Both are extremely serious felony-level charges. 

An act of penetration is classified as sexual assault, or rape, if one of the following are also true:

  • The defendant used physical force or coercion, but did not seriously injure the alleged victim.
  • The victim was 16 or 17 years old and (1) the defendant was a blood relative to the third degree, was a step-relative or in-law, or (2) the defendant had some type of supervisory or disciplinary power over the victim, or (3) the defendant was the victim’s guardian or a resource family parent (or occupied a similar parental role), or (4) the victim is at least 13 but not 16 years old and the defendant is at least four years older.
  • The victim was on probation or parole, or was in a hospital, prison or institution, and the defendant had some type of supervisory or disciplinary power.

Rape is generally a second-degree crime under these circumstances.  Conviction carries up to ten years in prison and a maximum $150,000 fine.  Additional penalties include:

  • Sex offender registration for life
  • Community or parole supervision for life

Aggravated Sexual Assault: A First-Degree Crime

Sexual assault charges can be aggravated to a first-degree crime if the prosecution can prove any of the following aggravating factors:

  • The victim is younger than 13 years old
  • The assault is committed during the course of committing (or attempting) another serious crime
  • The defendant had a weapon or something that the victim reasonably believed was a weapon
  • At least one other person aided and abetted the defendant
  • The defendant physically forced or coerced the victim into the act and severely injured the victim
  • The defendant knew, or reasonably should have known, that the victim was unable to provide consent because of a physical, intellectual or mental handicap or other disability
  • The victim was at least 13 but not yet 16, and the defendant was a blood relative, a step-relative or in-law, or had some type of supervisory or disciplinary power over the victim, or was the victim’s guardian or a resource family parent (or occupied a similar parental role)

In addition to sex offender registration, first-degree aggravated assault charges carry up to 20 years in prison.  These are not the type of charges that you can trust just anyone to defend.  You need the best possible lawyer on your team.  Call Hercules Law Group, LLC as soon as possible to discuss options in your case.

Call an Experienced Sexual Assault Lawyer You Can Trust Today

When faced with sexual assault charges, it is important to remember that you need a lawyer who has actual in-court experience defending clients’ rights.  Many other law firms might encourage clients to accept guilty pleas.  In a sexual assault case, reaching a plea deal is often not even on the table. 

Hercules Law Group, LLC has been fighting to protect clients’ rights for over 20 years.  The firm is always prepared to aggressively defend your rights at trial before a judge and jury.  With the skills, resources and passion of Hercules Law Group, LLC by your side, you have the tools you need to get the best outcome in your case.  

Call or contact the firm today to schedule your free initial consultation with a qualified sexual assault defense lawyer.

Frequently Asked Questions About Sexual Assault Charges in New Jersey

FAQ: How can a lawyer help fight sexual assault charges?

The exact defense that might work in any case depends upon the unique circumstances involved.  Potential defenses might include:
 
– The victim consented (assuming age is not a factor)
– Constitutional violations
– Problems with the evidence, including chain of custody issues with the rape kit or falsified/erroneous forensic evidence
– Challenges to witness credibility
– Alibi or mistaken identity defenses
– The impact of racial bias on your arrest and identification

FAQ: Is it ever possible to have your name removed from the sex offender registry if convicted of sexual assault?

Megan’s law removal is possible in certain cases, generally after a period of 15 years has passed. In more serious cases, registration requirements really are permanent. An experienced defense lawyer can help explore all of the options if you have a prior sexual assault conviction. For example, even if Megan’s law removal is not possible, it may be possible to have your tier status downgraded—so that your information is no longer available to the general public.