New Jersey Second Offense DUI/DWI Lawyers
Leading Defense Lawyers Help Clients Beat Second Offense DUI/DWI Charges in Gloucester County, Camden County, and Burlington County
As serious as any DUI/DWI charge is, second offense DUI/DWIs are treated even more harshly. If convicted of a second DUI/DWI within ten years of your first offense, New Jersey imposes a mandatory minimum jail sentence. A strong, aggressive defense lawyer will fight to have your charges dropped before the judge reaches a verdict in your case. When the stakes are this high, you need the best possible lawyer by your side.
Hercules Law Group, LLC understands the arguments that work in challenging the evidence in your case—because the firm has been handling DUI/DWI cases for decades. An experienced DUI/DWI defense lawyer will analyze all of the evidence in your case to form the strongest defense possible to beat the charges. Hercules Law Group, LLC knows that the stakes are high and has the experience, resources and passion for protecting your rights needed to get the best results for you.
As is true with any DUI/DWI, conviction for a second DUI/DWI is not automatic. Even if you have a past history of drunk driving, the experienced lawyers at Hercules Law Group, LLC know the right questions to ask. There are a variety of defense strategies that can be used to beat a second offense DUI/DWI charge. We know how to challenge the results of field sobriety testing and may even be able to get the Alcotest breath reading excluded from evidence.
To speak with an experienced, dedicated second offense DUI/DWI defense lawyer, contact Hercules Law Group, LLC for a free and confidential case review today.
Penalties for Second Offense DUI/DWI Charges in New Jersey
Under New Jersey law, prosecutors and judges are not permitted to negotiate a plea bargain in a DUI/DWI case. Although this is true, a skilled defense lawyer can present a strong defense to persuade the judge to assign the minimum level of penalties possible if the evidence does not allow the case to be thrown out entirely. Possible penalties for a second offense DUI/DWI include:
- 48 hours to 90 days in jail, with a mandatory 48-hour sentence if convicted
- Two consecutive days in the Intoxicated Driver Resource Center (IDRC), where you will receive counseling and education
- Driver’s license suspension, possibly for two years
- Installation of an ignition interlock device that will register your BAC before allowing you to start your vehicle (at your own expense)
- Financial penalties of up to $1,000
- A $1,000 annual insurance surcharge that will apply for three years
You will undoubtedly also have much higher car insurance premiums for years to come after a second offense DUI/DWI conviction. You may even have trouble finding car insurance or may have your registration revoked.
Many clients accused of a second DUI/DWI have some idea of how the system works. You might believe that you will only receive the 48-hour jail sentence. However, the judge has discretion to impose a longer jail sentence. Various aggravating factors might result in a longer (up to 90-day) jail sentence, including circumstances involving
- An accident, especially if someone was hurt
- Your BAC reading—higher BAC might lead to a longer jail sentence
- The amount of time that has passed since your first DUI/DWI
- Your general behavior upon arrest
The skill and knowledge of your defense lawyer is key to avoiding the harshest possible penalties for a repeat DUI/DWI conviction. Hercules Law Group, LLC has over 20 years’ experience fighting to protect the rights of clients across New Jersey. Call the firm today to schedule your free initial consultation so that we can discuss options for your specific defense.
Skilled DUI/DWI Defense Lawyers Mount Strongest Possible Defense to Second-Time DUI/DWI Charges
The skill and experience of your defense lawyer is extremely important when facing second offense DUI/DWI charges. If possible, we will use the evidence against you to work to have the case dismissed. This might be possible by:
- Challenging how the field sobriety testing was administered
- Challenging whether the Alcotest breathalyzer machine was properly maintained and calibrated
- Challenging whether the police had probable cause for the traffic stop
- Challenging whether the police were properly trained and administered their duties properly
In other cases, we may be able to challenge whether this was really your second offense DUI/DWI. Depending upon the facts, it may be possible to have the current charge treated as your first offense to minimize the penalties.
At Hercules Law Group, LLC, you will receive the personal attention of a dedicated and experienced DUI/DWI defense lawyer. The firm’s lawyers handle their cases personally—meaning that your defense is uniquely tailored to the facts of your specific case. When you have questions, your lawyer will be sure to answer them promptly and completely. To learn more, schedule a free and confidential consultation today.
Schedule a Free Initial Consultation with a Qualified 2nd Offense DUI/DWI Defense Lawyer Today
As with any serious charges, acting as quickly as possible is important if you are facing second offense DUI/DWI charges in New Jersey. The sooner your lawyer begins investigating, the more quickly we can develop a strong and aggressive defense for you. When you choose Hercules Law Group, LLC, you can rest assured that you will have a knowledgeable and experienced lawyer advocating on your behalf every step of the way.
To schedule your free initial consultation with the trusted DUI/DWI defense lawyers at Hercules Law Group, LLC, call or fill out this online contact form today.
Frequently Asked Questions About Second Offense DUI/DWI Charges in New Jersey
Yes. DUI/DWI charges in other jurisdictions are considered in determining whether to prosecute the charges as a second offense (under N.J.S.A. 39:4-50).
Indirectly. With a first offense DUI/DWI, penalties are impacted by how high your BAC reading was. With second offense DUI/DWI, the penalty range is the same regardless of whether you were just at the legal limit or your BAC was extremely high. The judge has discretion within that range to assign harsher penalties for high BAC, but is not required to do so. The expertise of your lawyer is therefore even more important in arguing for minimal penalties in your case.