New Jersey DUI/DWI Defense Lawyers
Reputable Defense Lawyers Help Clients Fight DUI/DWI Charges in Gloucester County, Camden County, and Burlington County
When you’re arrested on DUI/DWI charges, panic and fear may be your first response. New Jersey takes driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs very seriously. Penalties for a DUI/DWI are always serious—but are influenced by a number of factors. Having a strong lawyer by your side gives you the greatest chance of beating the charges or minimizing the impact on your life.
DUI/DWI defense lawyer, Hercules Pappas of the Hercules Law Group, LLC has more than 20 years’ experience helping New Jersey drivers fight DUI/DWI charges. Attorney Pappas has a proven track record of successfully helping clients move on after a DUI/DWI charge.
Often, when people are arrested on DUI/DWI charges, they think they can’t fight the charges and are stuck with the judge’s decision. That is never the case. Skilled lawyers, plus a legal team with significant resources and experience, all greatly improve your odds of having the charges dismissed.
Driving with a blood alcohol content (BAC) of 0.08 percent or more is illegal per se under the law. However, a 0.08 percent BAC reading does not mean that the case is closed. To learn more about how an experienced DUI/DWI defense lawyer can help in your specific case, contact the firm for a free case review today.
Understanding New Jersey DUI/DWI Offenses
Punishment for a DUI/DWI in New Jersey always depends upon two primary factors:
- Whether you have had any other DUI/DWIs in the prior ten-year period, and
- The level of alcohol found in your blood
Extenuating circumstances, such as whether you were involved in an accident where someone was hurt, can also impact your punishment. DUI/DWI-related charges that Hercules Law Group, LLC handles include:
- First-offense DUI/DWI
- Second-offense DUI/DWI
- Third or subsequent-offense DUI/DWI
- Refusing a breath test
- Underage DUI/DWI
- DUI/DWI with a commercial driver’s license
- Driving with an open container of alcohol
- Driving under the influence of drugs
- DUI/DWI in a school zone
- Driving while your license is suspended because of a prior DUI/DWI
Charges for any one of these offenses can create a domino effect that you might not anticipate when charged. It is never easy to predict the future. Any type of DUI/DWI-related offense has to be taken seriously—because a subsequent offense could mean certain jail time.
Penalties for DUI/DWI in New Jersey
New Jersey recently changed the penalties for DUI/DWI. Offenders can still face a range of penalties, many of which are in the judge’s discretion. The new law is beneficial in that it provides options that can help first offenders avoid losing their license. Depending upon the circumstances, however, even first offenders might find themselves facing up to 30 days in county jail.
Penalties for first-offense DUI/DWI in New Jersey can include license suspension for between three months and one year, based on your BAC at the time of arrest, as follows:
- BAC between 0.08% and 0.10%: Your license will be suspended only until you install an ignition interlock device in your vehicle, which must remain in place for three months.
- BAC between 0.10% and 0.15%: Your license will be suspended until you install an ignition interlock device in your vehicle, which must remain in place for between seven months and one year.
- BAC over 0.15%: Your license will be suspended for between four and six months, after which you must install an ignition interlock device in your vehicle for between nine months and 15 months.
Additional penalties for a first-time DUI/DWI include:
- Fines of between $250 and $500 (depending on BAC)
- A car insurance surcharge equal to $1,000 per year, for three years
- Potential alcohol or substance abuse counseling
- A 12-hour to 48-hour alcohol course at the Intoxicated Driver Resource Center
Defending Your DUI/DWI Charges
Hercules Law Group, LLC regularly defends clients arrested on DUI/DWI charges across New Jersey. The firm never takes the police evidence at face value. A careful, detailed investigation into what happened during your traffic stop, field sobriety testing, arrest and interrogation can provide an opening to get your charges dropped.
Hercules Law Group, LLC’s experienced DUI/DWI defense lawyers may be able to form a defense based upon:
- Lack of probable cause for the traffic stop
- Lack of probable cause for sobriety testing
- Errors in the field sobriety testing process
- Calibration problems with the Alcotest breathalyzer machine
- Challenges to whether the officers on the scene were properly trained to administer field sobriety testing
- Whether racial bias influenced the traffic stop or arrest
These are only examples of the types of defenses that can result in dismissal of DUI/DWI charges in New Jersey. Hercules Law Group, LLC treats every case and every client seriously. You can expect a thorough investigation into your specific case to identify the unique defense that is best suited for your case.
To learn more about how the skilled DUI/DWI defense lawyer at Hercules Law Group, LLC can help in your case, schedule a free initial consultation today.
Schedule a Free Initial Consultation with the Proven DUI/DWI Lawyers at Hercules Law Group, LLC Today
Drivers arrested on DUI/DWI charges are often concerned about the monetary cost of the offense over time. Hercules Law Group, LLC offers reasonable, competitive pricing and accepts all major credit cards. Payment plans can also be discussed. Your first consultation is free, so there’s no risk in contacting the firm to learn more about your rights.
Frequently Asked Questions About DUI/DWI Charges in New Jersey
Yes. Refusal to submit to the breath test is a separate offense in New Jersey. Further, you can still be charged with the underlying DUI/DWI. A BAC reading is not necessary—the officer’s testimony alone can be sufficient for the charges to stick. If you refused the breath test, it is especially important to retain the services of an experienced DUI/DWI defense lawyer.
Apart from being immediately taken to jail, judges have discretion as to whether to require jail time. The skill of your lawyer is extremely important to avoiding jail. The judge may consider whether you have any past criminal record, how high your BAC was and whether any aggravating or mitigating factors were involved in your case. An experienced lawyer can frame your case in the best possible light and fight to avoid jail time if at all possible.